” Just a Hunter “

I am a hunter , I shoot a bow to kill. Every chance I get I am working on being a good archer , practicing from every angle I can think of . With the sole purpose of making a quick , clean , and humane kill . I shoot 3d for fun , yes I like to compete and yes I even like to win . But thats not why I shoot 3d , I do it for practice of taking shots under pressure , it helps in the real world ,if youve ever taken a shot at a live animal then you know how getting used to Shooting under pressure will help.
At my home we have a short 800 yard trail in the woods with bag targets ( to poor for 3d targets ) I like to make a habit of stalking to each target , I often see deer , turkey ,and woodchucks , and I like to see how close I can get to them , turkeys are by far the hardest and deer the easyest . Ive gotten within 7 yards of a deer before spooking them , the closest Ive made a kill was at 10 yards and yeah my heart was in my neck lo.
Im not a small guy , Im a big guy at 6 ‘ and about 280 lbs , it takes effort and practice and lots of patience . As I teach my boys ” see them before they see you ” and no I Dont always get that close , but I always try .
I am always practicing my woods skills , if I make a fire , it wont be with a lighter or matches , it will be with my steel and striker , my thoughts on that is if Im able to do it for fun Ill be able to do it when I need to .
I teach my kids that too , I show them the best places to find tinder , even after a rain , yeah that can be tough but Ive always gotten my fire .
I am just a hunter , and being a hunter is more than just killing a animal , its having woods skills and knowing how to use them . Ive heard it said ” the more you know the less you need ” and its true . My name is Dave , and Im just a huntet .

Untill next time , shoot straight , and keep your feathers dry , Dave

please visit http://www.gatorbowworks.com and help out my friend Robert and enter the drawing for a custom bow and matching arrows , all while helping a child , thanks Heb. 13:8

2 responses to “” Just a Hunter “

Leave a comment